top of page

"Here's our homegrown, homeboy, wordsmith master, AB with some new, pissed off profundities and rhyme schemes. If he only got paid by the word! Check him out! It's even got CAPTIONS! So you can follow the lyrics like a bouncing ball!​"
-Steve Short
(8/14/22)

Dsc_0024_Milan Rappers_AnthonyBrown_JameyCollins.jpg

Milan music duo share passion for rap

By Steve Short
Milan Mirror-Exchange (7/5/07)

They are partners in rhyme. 
And they’re engrossed in the street art of rap music - crunk, hip hop, fat beats, and killer punch lines.
Anthony Brown and Jamey Collins are two aspiring artists living in small town Milan but sharing big time dreams.
Their studios are their homes, where they work with computers, microphones and the plethora of “beats” that can be captured from cyberspace and pasted into multitrack recording programs to serve as backing tracks for lyrics.
Brown, 20, goes by the alias “H2.” Collins, 23, is known as “J’Smoove.” With musical collaborator Stephen Winfrey (“S.DUB”) also of Milan, they have recorded dozens of songs and are working on new mix tapes and full albums. 
Their tracks range from soulful to hard edge, from the romantic “Kiss Me” to “We Known,” which is loaded with profanity, the n-word, and references to “the hustler’s mind frame.” A new tune, “Crying Herself To Sleep” is a serious reflection on a troubled relationship. (“Whenever she professed her love for him, he just mocked her.”) 
The men say they strive for messages of truth, not just dance beats, what they call “fried food” and “senseless, dumb music.”  
“We put passion into it; every song we do has a story behind it,” said Brown. “We do real commentaries on life and try to connect with people who feel the same way we do.”
“We’re like people in the ‘out crowd,’ but we have ‘in crowd’ status,” added Collins.
Collins said the two have a “lyrical chemistry” working together. “We’re like brothers,” added Brown. 
Brown ‘s recent albums include “The Fall of Tha Habitual Flatliner” album “Lungevity.” Collins’ is working on “The Game,” with sixteen new songs.
They sell their music via websites and area stores, City Warehouse in Jackson and Hastings in Dyersburg. For samples, visit www.myspace.com/itsyaboih2, which has links to J’Smoove. Brown said 2,500 people have added his site to their page.
They’re also working with other local artists through their own label, Street Fame Entertainment. Former Milan High football star Daylan Walker, now at Central Arkansas, is delving into the rap-hip hop genre with an album under the alias “Yung Money.” Milan High student and hoop standout Shaniqua Gray is recording as “Li’l Bit.” 
“In a few words I can say that this label is merging the lines of dirty South beats and strong lyrical content with expressive ideas and an incredible work ethic,” Brown explained. “There’s a lot of untapped talent around here, but they’re not getting it out there like we are.” 

Serious word flow
An example of Brown’s and Collins’ serious approach is in their song, “Better Days” with its theme of anxiety: 
“While I sit off in my room I realize I'm confused,
Where do I go? Who do I choose? I don't wanna lose.
I'm kinda like Weezy; I got the young'n blues,
And my mind's so gone and lost right now I'm on the verge of going off,
And it's all because the problem’s on my chest.
I can't think straight, plus I'm losing rest.
I'm asking God for signs to release my mind;
Can't get behind, a few steps from the finish line;
And it's all because the mess of the world.
At the same time, having confrontations with my girl.

Nowadays I pray every day and night
But it seems like my prayers go no further than the light,
Besides I'm losing this mental fight, and I can't take all this controversy,
The many men after "50" is after me.

Mama said there'd be days like this,
And ya'll don't know nothing ‘bout the drinks I sip,
If you knew something ‘bout the s--- I did,
Then I bet ya'll wouldn't say it again
I'm lookin for better days.”

“I always liked people who made stories something you could feel and not just listen to.”
I don’t speak to be heard; I speak to be felt,” said Collins. One of his favorite lines is: “If it’s one thing I can brag on, son; I’ve been inspired by many but influenced by none.”
Collins caught the music bug at an early age. By 2003 he was known among friends as a “Freestyle King.” 
“People in my hood were shocked to see me spit hot tracks off the top of my head, and they always thought I was spitting stuff I wrote,” he said.
Brown achieved popularity in high school, selling 300 CD’s of his original music to fellow students at Milan High. “We’ve made a name for ourselves,” he said.
Brown expresses his passion for rap in his song, “We Love It.” 
“We don't do this thing right here for the fortune or fame;
We don't do this thing right here to get some grip out the game;
We don't do this thing right here for the chickens or the cuttin’;
We do this thing right here ‘cause we love it, we love it.” 



Photo 
MILAN RAPPERS Anthony Brown and Jamey Collins have recorded dozens of songs and are promoting their own record label, Street Fame Entertainment. Brown goes by the alias “H2,” while Colllins is known as “JSmoove.”

 

Itsyaboih2...
'Simple [But Effective]'
This is quite a different genre for me to listen to, yet it is time for a change; time to open my own mind to a new style. And hopefully widen your musical mind at the same time!
On this occasion I have listened to his tracks online, finding it quite mesmerising and clever. 'Only tha strong survive' is equipped with some thumping beats and a lyrical genius. It is quick, and clean cut, and a musical masterpiece. 
He has definitely created his own style and I haven't heard anything I can really compare him too. His work is a massive mixture, feeling slightly techno at times, and very much suitable for a energy fuelled club. 'Tha show must go on' has a great back beat, the vocals repeating in the background really add to it and keep it flowing like a mother-fu**ing river!... I know, I can't compete...I'm not cool enough.
However, past my rapper-less skills, 'Everythang' feels quite united and strong, making a statement and standing its ground. The vocals are demanding and yet free, the lyrics themselves slightly cheeky and true at the same time. It is in keeping with the current music scene and social ways of the world, mentioning YouTube which just about everyone knows!
'I refuse' was quite a shock, whilst I liked the intro it did seem a little unsuited with the music that follows; however, it proves me wrong and pops back up! Having picked the perfect time, it works brilliantly. So, if you listen to this track, don't be put off by the introduction as it sparks into life and works really well, despite the contrast in genre.
'A hard year' is quite a different remix, it is quite melodic and relaxing, which is hard to do in this genre of music. I'm liking it! It is also something quite different from the first few tracks...
I'm really liking these remixes, they have been carefully put together to create different, interesting and slightly wacky music. It definitely takes talent, with a musical ear to know what works.
'Got me twisted' has a great intro, the female vocals work really well, and are definitely something which could be used more in sync with the male roles. It brings a different pitch to the track and is a great contrast against that addictive back beat.
'Unusual' is simply as the title states, it is synth-filled, but still keeps that style which make 'Itsyaboih2' so damn right cool. People may say they don't like rap, and remixes are boring; yet these are fresh and modern. The vocals are strong, and the story behind each is rather fascinating. It isn't all about guns and low riders, popping caps and stealing cars, it all means much more than that. So, don't jump to conclusions and have a listen. 
Whilst I have looked at a considerable amount of his tracks, I do have to mention more...
'Listen' is one track I particularly like, whilst I haven't said a bad word about any of his tracks, this is one that I have my eye on. I think the use of the various vocals are something which floats my boat, and tracks like 'Listen' should definitely be on the radio. Now, give it a chance and have a listen, and if you dare, try keep up with the quick pace rapping. 
Check out Itsyaboih2 for yourself, at one of these rather dazzling links:
IMRadio DatPiff Myspace
P.S
Check out 'Tryin to eat'.
Brought to you by Suzie

(10/27/10)-New Reviews

"What’s that? Slick production? Tight verse? Intelligent message? That’s right, ladies and gentlemen. It’s Ya Boi H2. The world is a dark place, right now. There’s uncertainty everywhere. If anything can respond to the needs and the mentality of the people of earth, it is music; and H2 certainly hasn’t been found lacking, providing us with a genuine vision of the world. Such genuine visions are often difficult to find in hip hop – where increasingly self-referential egotists seem to run a monopoly, and true talent has to escape between their fingers."

-

"Take, for example, Bad Day; a backing piano track lays a foundation for a heartfelt attack on the stress of modern life and crippling depression. The writing is fantastic poetry, and should be what hip hop aims for in the long game. Hiding The Truth is another stand-out track, but picking individual moments of genius in such high-calibre work is frankly difficult."

"While the talent involved is hard to express without demanding the reader immediately seek out this man’s work, I can perhaps give you a taste of just what H2 is trying to say, with a few deft lines from Identity Crisis: Why am I pouting? I’m trying to find myself, and I think I found him The thing is, I can’t swim – and I can see he’s drowning"

"This reviewer at least truly hopes that H2 makes it; nobody with this much talent deserves to go unsigned."

Suzie, New Reviews (Nov 22, 2010)

Defenseless Front Cover.jpg

ItsYaBoiH2
Reviewed by:  Jason Randall Smith


At this stage of the rap game, the ability to spit rhymes and motivate the crowd effectively should certainly take precedence over what skin tone the emcee behind the microphone comes wrapped in.  However, Anthony Brown knows all too well about books being judged by their covers upon first impression, so woe be to those who confuse this rapper’s Whiteness for Vanilla.  Hailing from Tennessee and adopting the name H2 as his emcee persona, the pseudonym has now morphed into the catchphrase “ItsYaBoiH2.”  Although he give props to The Beastie Boys for being one of his early influences, he possesses a lyrical grit that’s somewhere in between Tupac and Eminem.  His latest album Defenseless is an 18-track verbal assault on the senses, proving beyond a shadow of a doubt that he has what it takes to command an audience’s attention.
Marrying the rhythmic aesthetic of the Dirty South with intricate verses jam-packed with metaphors and clever one-liners, “Flawless” offers the perfect introduction to H2.  The production is quintessential crunk, inspiring a sea of head nods as snares echo and ominous bass lines hover above the percussion.  The additional keyboard licks add a touch of shine to a deliciously filthy rhythm, one that H2 takes advantage of with his passionate flow.  With lines that are meticulously crafted, he says more in one verse than most rappers say with entire songs.  On “Do What I Do (Tha Interview),” he drops a myriad of facts, insults, and braggadocio over a quirky beat that sparkles with a melodic sequence that’s deliriously pop in its approach.  Somehow, his flow is still a perfect fit, and surprises like these will continuously keep listeners guessing throughout the album.  “I got plenty CDs, you hear me on many beats,” H2 confirms, “cuz I’m not that picky, I go hard on any beat.”
The truth of that line is shown and proven many times on Defenseless.  “Until It’s Gone” features drum programming and synth work that wouldn’t sound out of place within a New Wave tune.  H2 effectively switches the lyrical mood on this song, encouraging his lady to see the light within the dark moments of life.  “How We Feel” injects a Latin flavor into its Southern bounce as a Spanish guitar loop repeats over sparse electronic drums and double time digitized castanets.  It’s the perfect backing for a love ballad, but H2 comes through with his tongue-twisting verses and makes the instrumental work for him.  As cool as it is to hear such a successful contrast, “What’s It To Ya” delivers sinister chords and creeping production worthy of this lyrical assassin’s abilities.  While he spends a majority of the album verbally eviscerating the competition, he is not above showing vulnerability.  “Weak” settles into an R&B backing track as H2 comes clean about the addiction he has for his woman.  However, “Count Me Out” paints an entirely different portrait of a man who’s done jumping through hoops for love.  Over fist-pumping drums and more ‘80s nostalgic keyboard work, H2 saves his most jaded and humorous lyrics for this one (“I used to think faking it was something really hard to do / but women fake a lot of things, if you ain’t already knew.”).
“Comin’ Home” reveals the exhaustion underneath the tireless work ethic that drives H2 to pursue a music career in the first place.  Incorporating the chorus from Shiny Toy Guns’ cover version of “Major Tom (Coming Home),” H2 attempts to overlook the label and A&R dismissals as well as the naysayers within arm’s distance.  “Really, I am beginning to think all this is worthless,” he confesses.  “Why buy a scratch-off when I can barely scratch the surface?”  It’s an unflinchingly real quotable from an album that never runs short of rewind moments.  Defenseless is a frighteningly good full-length from a versatile emcee climbing his way to the top of the heap.  Contrary to popular opinion, there is room for more than one at the top, and hopefully the name and phrase “ItsYaBoiH2” will spread like wildfire throughout hip-hop’s fan base.

Reviewed by:  Jason Randall Smith
Rating:  4 stars (out of 5)

(3/4/11)
 

Milan Mirror Article Pic.png

Click to read
theillixer's review

-Here's What Steve Short had to say about
"After Tha Crash" from No Brakes

(11/21/11)
 

"Ya Boi

Thanks much for giving me the early exclusive!~~  It sounds great overall. I really like your ambition and the direction of writing about a relationship in such a clever way. I just think that holds a lot of promise.

For me an old guy this is kinda Coldplay via Bruce Springsteen via Ya Boi.

 

I like the swing feel - it's nice. It sounds more natural

 

If you're looking for feedback - (Hell no I ain't, it's finished! you say?) My impression is that it's made for a female voice to join in, either singing her own lines or joining on the chorus. But maybe not. I'm thinking it needs to be bigger, like maybe add a louder snare drum on the chorus combined with some cello that follows that electric guitar line. I think the verses could be quiet like they are but I'm sensing the chorus needs some punch.

 

I think you're doing a great job with your singing and the double tracked vocal works well. I ain't listening to enough similar stuff really to be smart enough about it. But this ain't so far from Li'l Wayne is it? 

 

Maybe a little more attitude in the singing, a little more acting. It comes across kinda like a demo. But I'm being overly critical. I think you've got all kinds of possibilities of being heard or even having somebody established pick up on one of your songs.

 

Well you didn't ask me to critique it, but it just sounds real close to a full track. Let me know about any other stuff you're doing or what is happening. You're doing great work and you're really on a path to succeed!"

Click to read
theillixer's review

Bigger Fish Front Cover.png

You have to wonder what would make Anthony Brown take a simple MC name like H2 and turn it into the catchphrase ItsYaBoiH2.  However, there’s something about the phrase-as-name approach that makes it more personal, that makes it sound like a trusted friend is back in town for a welcome return.  His latest album, Bigger Fish, comes after a decade plus of releasing CDs and mix tapes, armed with a dizzying rhyme flow and verses for days on end.  Producer Steven “Ignova” Winfrey is his longtime partner in crime, providing a diverse array of instrumentals for H2 to draw inspiration from.  Their working relationship has resulted in an unquestionable chemistry within the music, reaching its finest hour on this release.

There’s always the threat of filler material on rap albums that are 18 tracks deep (not to mention a running time of 77 minutes), but ItsYaBoiH2 doesn’t waste a moment.  Keeping the guest appearances to a minimum, Bigger Fish is primarily his vision and it’s more than obvious that he’s got a lot to say.  Verbal shots are immediately fired on “Clap For ‘Em” as soon as he starts to recite the chorus (“They got somebody better to write a rap for ‘em!”).  H2 mercilessly clowns sucker MCs with quick-witted one-liners over hollow snare hits and watery keyboard melodies and there’s no signs of stopping on the following title track.  The brutal percussive punches of “Bigger Fish” are topped off with tolling bells that may as well be boxing round signals as he stands square with dukes up, landing lyrical jabs and body blows with every line.

While it doesn’t take long to realize that he can clobber the competition with his wordplay, at least half of the songs on the album serve as a reminder of his ability to adjust his delivery when necessary.  “Where I Wanna Be” is a strikingly ambitious cut that peels away the layers of H2’s braggadocio to examine his rap music aspirations.  He is just as much a fan of the genre as he is a participant within it, which causes his dream to perform before thousands to contain a sense of wide-eyed wonder.  Ignova’s arrangement underneath him is startlingly beautiful, awash in sparkling guitar riffs, warm keyboard textures, and a cavernous kick drum.  “Too Dramatic” gets orchestral with an airy string section wrapped around a female vocal sample and laid back drum programming as H2 walks a light-hearted path with his lyrics, referring to himself as “the offspring between Mother Nature and Father Time.”

“Jager On The Rocks” takes the party to the clubs via sleazy synthesizer lines over percolating percussion, leaving H2 to live it up and consider lust-and-leave maneuvers with the ladies.  He plays the detached observer on “Student Of Observation,” telling a tale of a male-female relationship in which both parties have wildly different motives.  The backing track merges folksy guitars with a shuffling beat to compliment H2’s rapid-fire narration.  The cut may require multiple rewinds to catch all of his wisdom, but it’s worth investing the time to do so.  Songs like “Risk” and “Sink” are pure audio gold, taking chances with hip-hop by experimenting with different musical moods underneath verses that investigate the tug-of-war between ambition and inner turmoil.  Whereas “Risk” envelops H2’s words with romantic chords and static bursts for snare drums, “Sink” is a bottomless abyss of dreamy ambience and intricate rhythms that add tension to the urgent lyricism.

With Ignova’s ingenious production behind him, there’s nothing that ItsYaBoiH2 can’t achieve.  Able to switch from hardcore battle rhymes to heartfelt sentiments with the greatest of ease, Bigger Fish feels and sounds like his breakout album, the one that will hopefully earn him some overdue recognition as an MC whose time to shine has finally arrived.

Artist:  ItsYaBoiH2
Album:  Bigger Fish
Reviewed by Jason Randall Smith
Rating:  4 stars (out of 5)
(6/13/13)

It’s difficult to get away from the first impression than ItsYaBoiH2 (real name Anthony Brown) has a real jones for Eminem.  Opener “Rickety Boat,” which also features TopGun, finds ItsYaBoiH2 stepping up to the mic, all tough like, to grab the listener’s attention.  He does get our attention, but maybe more for his Eminem-like similarities, rather than for his individualistic rapping skills.

At 24, this young man from Milan, Tennessee has already been rapping for half his life now. Bigger Fish finds ItsYaBoiH2 rapping hard, like his life depends upon it.  Curiously, he names artists like Bone Thugs N Harmony, Tupac, LL Cool J, and Beastie Boys as influences, while completely neglecting Eminem. 
ItsYaBoiH2 has said, “I'm writing and recording over 5 songs a day, and I feel that I am ready for the mainstream music scene.”  And to support this point, he says, “Music consumes me,” during this album’s title track.  Then during “Greenbacks,” which drops in an old pop song, he incorporates its chorus, “I don’t give a damn about a greenback dollar” just to support the point that he’s much more concerned about art than commerce.  I’m not sure what artist’s clip he’s using here, but this song was originally a hit for the Kingston Trio, of all groups, and written by Hoyt Axton.  Nevertheless, its words fit perfectly into ItsYaBoiH2’s sounds.

Although the rap game is sometimes by its very nature narcissistic, ItsYaBoiH2 is so focused on himself, it starts to become a little overwhelming after a while.  Yes, we know he’s had to fight tooth and nail to get to where he is today.  Yes, we also know that fight has not been easy. However, an ability to step outside of one’s self is a big key to developing as an artist.  Eminem, one of ItsYaBoiH2’s undeclared influences, had a way to put himself into semi-cartoon characters even back when he was still green and developing.  Yes, he raps a lot about himself still today; but he also has the imagination to put himself into other characters.  You don’t get the feeling ItsYaBoiH2 has mastered that seeing-it-from-another’s skill quite yet, however.

On the plus side, ItsYaBoiH2 has surrounded himself with a lot of great beats.  For instance, the track “Scream” uses some really innovative, electronic music-inspired rhythms and synth lines to give him an inviting and melodically memorable bed to rap over.  One of my biggest beefs with much of contemporary rap today is that much of it is so stripped down that it’s of little or no musical value.  Yes, the words are what are most important; however, if you don’t give listeners something to hum in their heads, you’re leaving out a significant chunk of what makes music such listening pleasure. 

ItsYaBoiH2 may well be ready for the mainstream now.  With all of Maclemore’s success, it’s abundantly clear the music world is ready for chart-topping white rap.  The biggest question about ItsyaBoiH2, however, is whether or not he has what it takes to hook an audience.  He calls his album Bigger Fish, but all fishermen will tell you that one of the biggest keys to catching fish, whether big or small, is using the right bait.  Does ItsYaBoiH2 have the rhymes that will resonate with today’s audience?  Is he a compelling enough figure to attract a large fan base?  Of course, only time will tell. 

Most importantly, ItsYaBoiH2 has the talent to get noticed.  He deserves the attention of serious hip hop fans.  Now, we’ll just wait and see if he has staying power after that initial public attention comes. 

Artist: ItsYaBoiH2
Album: Bigger Fish
Review By: Dan MacIntosh
Rating: 3 Stars (out of 5)
(6/13/13)

These days, hip-hop’s popularity is so widespread and so international that if one hears that a rapper is from Milan, it comes as no surprise.  There are rappers who are based in Milan (as well as Rome, Florence, Venice, Bologna, Genoa and other Italian cities) and rap in Italian exclusively. Anthony Brown, a.k.a. ItsYaBoiH2, is from Milan, but not the fashion-obsessed city in the north of  Italy.  ItsYaBoiH2 is from Milan, Tennessee, and his language for rapping is English, not Italian.  The interesting thing is that despite being a southern rapper, his style is not overly mindful of the Dirty South school of hip-hop.

Many rappers who come from the southern states (be it Tennessee, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama or one of the Carolinas) are very easy to identify as southern rappers.  From the Atlanta-based Ludacris to North Carolina resident Petey Pablo to New Orleans native Master P., so many southern rappers are very easy to identify as part of hip-hop’s Dirty South school.  But most of the prominent influences on this album are non-southern influences.  ItsYaBoiH2 is a native and resident of the Dirty South, but that doesn’t mean he goes out of his way to sound like a typical rapper from the Dirty South.

Put on “Deep Rock” (a duet with fellow rapper T-Roc), “Greenbacks,” “Fine Wine” or “Highs and Lows,” and one is not bombarded with Dirty South influences by any means.  Instead, the direct or indirect influences that assert themselves the most on this album include Eminem, Jay-Z, Bone Thugs N Harmony and House of Pain (in other words, mostly rappers from the East Coast, West Coast or Midwest).   The Midwestern influence comes through with elements of Michigan native Eminem and Cleveland, Ohio’s Bone Thugs N Harmony, and the New York City influence asserts itself with elements of Jay-Z.  House of Pain started on the West Coast, although House of Pain’s Everlast was born in New York State. 

One hears plenty of Eminem’s angst on this album, but when ItsYaBoiH2 turns up the angst on “Lovin’ This,” “Student of Observation” or “Risk,” he doesn’t get as twisted, as dark or as shocking as Eminem can be at times. Edgy, yes, but not as dark.

“Jager on the Rocks” is perhaps the closest that this album comes to a typical Dirty South club banger.  The Dirty South school is famous for songs that talk about “getting crunk in the club” and celebrate the pleasures of hard liquor or mixed drinks, and “Jager on the Rocks” celebrates jagermeister.  Crunk, a particular style of Dirty South hip-hop, is essentially famous for hard liquor-obsessed club bangers.  But even on “Jager on the Rocks,” ItsYaBoiH2’s flow is not very Dirty South-sounding.  The drinking imagery he incorporates in that song is characteristic of the Dirty South, but the way he raps on that selection is more characteristic of other parts of the United States.

There is a fair amount of diversity on Bigger Fish.  Some of the tracks have a strong rock influence, especially “Scream” and “Greenbacks.”  But “Student of Observation,” with its eerie synthesizer groove, has more of a chillout/downtempo or trip-hop sort of vibe.  Synthesizers are used in different ways on this album.  They are used to create an eerie, haunting mood on “Sink” and “Highs and Lows,” but they are used in a much more forceful way on the in-your-face title track and the defiant “Steppin’.” 

Bigger Fish is not a one-dimensional album by any means, and the Tennessee rapper’s willingness to bring some diversity to this 2013 release speaks well of him.  
 
Bigger Fish is not his first recording.  In the past, he has put out some mix tapes.  But Bigger Fish obviously isn’t a mix tape, and this album is a likable demonstration of the fact that an MC can come from Deep South and still get most of his musical inspiration from other parts of the United States.

ItsYaBoiH2
Bigger Fish
Review by Alex Henderson
3.5 stars out of 5
(Date could not be determined)

###


The 26-year old rapper Anthony Brown may perform under the name “ItsYaBoiH2” but as a kid at heart, he’s proudly represented his adoration for music since his youth. After growing up in Tennessee, ItsYaBoiH2 constantly found himself listening to the likes of Tupac, LL Cool J, and the Beastie Boys. A rapid piling occurred in which Brown transitioned from simply listening to rap music to connecting with the music to writing lyrics of his own. Now, after embarking on an impressive journey that has featured multiple mix tapes and other releases, ItsYaBoiH2 continues to successfully deliver with his latest release, Bigger Fish. 

While his music personifies various influences, there’s an evident commonness throughout his compositions: rawness.  As Bigger Fish begins with “Rickety Boat” ItsYaBoiH2 presents a solid first impression. Immediately beginning with a hypnotic beat, “Rickety Beat” is a strong start. There’s a definite groove to the song that makes for a smooth entrance the vocals. ItsYaBoiH2 delivers lines consistently with such an admirably smooth flow. In some ways, “Rickety Boat” is the ideal song for the album to begin with, portraying and presenting everything ItsYaBoiH2 is inclined to demonstrate musically. With the addition of TopGun as a featured rapper, “Rickety Beat” reveals a sense of energy that’s fully enjoyable and danceable. Following the strong start is the three minute track “Clap for ‘Em.” Rather than maintaining the previous faster tempo, “Clap for ‘Em” doesn’t feature as loud instrumentation, but rather softens the beat and is of a slower tempo. Synth lines echo louder over the supportive backing beat another beat which is highly accessible, but showcases the lines ItsYaBoiH2 reveals so impeccably. The lyrics are certainly not to be heard without parents’ attention, but “Clap for ‘Em” fuels the hip hop vibes that ItsYaBoiH2 strives to achieve. However, what makes the composition stand out isn’t necessarily the lyrics, but the driving beat underneath the powerful synthesizer. Considering the song has to follow such a strong beginning, “Clap for ‘Em” does the release justice. 

Marking the third track on Bigger Fish is the title track. Sounding similar to Ariana Grande’s current single “The Way,” questions may arise concerning the composition’s originality. Both songs feature such similar beats; however, ItsYaBoiH2 opts to rap over the beat instead of Grande’s vocal performance. It may appear to be a similar track, but aside from minuscule hints in the song’s beat, “Bigger Fish” takes on al life of its own. The featured beat results in a perfectly fitted, but repetitive drum sequence. Though the beat is unique and provides the ideal support system, the continuing beat sometimes becomes of an annoyance due its repetition. More impressive is ItsYaBoiH2’s vocal delivery. There seems to be an effortless attack whenever ItsYaBoiH2 holds onto the microphone, an evident ease and confidence conveyed through his voice. 

While the easiest route for ItsYaBoiH2 to take would include maintaining strong, fast-paced beats with smooth delivery, the rapper opts to differentiate himself from amongst the pact. Certain songs are relied on to voice that uniqueness and “Where I Wanna Be” tops the list. The longest song on the album, “Where I Wanna Be” isn’t anything like compositions heard prior. Embracing differentiation, “Where I Wanna Be” trades synthesizers for acoustic guitars and exchanges fast beats for a slower pace. In an emotionally-driven track, “Where I Wanna Be” is when ItsYaBoiH2 has his moment: his moment to depart from the rest; his moment that changes everything. The softer instrumentation constructs an impeccable environment for ItsYaBoiH2 to provide listeners with a strong performance. A pattern for the release, the delivery remains fresh and smooth, as ItsYaBoiH2 pours his heart out, “After I got out of school I was so nervous, just questioning my purpose.” He isn’t just another rapper to discuss partying, girls, and money - but represents the minority that immerse themselves in the music and the passion and the meaning behind the music, not for monetary or popularity purposes. A hopeful message conveying sincere message of dreams, ItsYaBoiH2 exclaims, “I just want to be the man. Looking at over a million fans hiding in the stands, and I’m reaching out to ‘em to the point that they can even grab my hand: that’s where I want to be.” With genuine expressions, music doesn’t appear as a game for the rapper. 

Concluding the album is the five minute composition “Sink.” Again, ItsYaBoiH2 delivers with something richly different, providing different perspectives and musical representations for listeners. “Sink” strays away from the usage of too powerful beats or instrumentation, allowing for ItsYaBoiH2 to recall the earlier days, when he focused solely on acapella deliveries. Instrumentation remains limited, aside from the soft, supportive beat that takes its time accompanying the vocals and the light piano melody. The performance on all ends is quite captivating and aurally pleasing. “Sink” strips down the project’s usage of heavy instrumentation on previous songs, making for a beautiful, passionate composition. It’s refreshing to hear music that’s limited in instrumentation, not allowing for ItsYaBoiH2 to fall victim to overproduction. There’s an audible rawness that no amount of technology can achieve. 

Considering that ItsYaBoiH2 does have more work to do, Bigger Fish shows development and improvement. Bigger Fish creates a reflective piece for the rapper to look back on, demonstrating his growth, hopeful that he’ll continue to apply his knowledge. Most importantly, Bigger Fish reminds listeners that hip hop isn’t only about parties, girls, or money. The release serves as a reminder that thought-provoking hip hop exists, as ItsYaBoiH2 lives to instill that mentality. 

Artist Name: ItsYaBoiH2
Album Title: Bigger Fish
Review By: Alexa Spieler
Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)
(6/13/13)


 
Milan, Tennessee native Anthony Brown has been writing/making rap music since he was thirteen years old.  At first he was just writing lyrics acapella, but a couple of years later he was turned on to beats.  Once of the first ones he worked with sounded a bit like a theme to one of the Halloween movies, and Anthony’s first stage name, H2, was born.  Anthony went on to release seven underground albums as H2 between 2003 and 2007 with friend and producer Steven “IGNOVA” Winfrey.  Steven set his sights on bigger exposure, expanding his name to ItsYaBoiH2.  Now he’s back with a new album that’s above ground and running, but it’s clear that ItsYaBoiH2 hasn’t forgotten his underground roots.
Bigger Fish kicks off with “Rickety Boat”, featuring guest TopGun.  There’s an urgent, low-fi feel to this rhyme.  The vocal doubling here is a bit distracting, and ItsYaBoiH2’s loops are extremely repetitive.  “Clap For ‘Em” carries a positive message, but that message might get lost for some listeners as the sound here is just too cluttered.  The vocals are mixed too low, and ItsYaBoiH2 again chooses to double up the rap.  This makes ItsYaBoiH2 harder to understand and creates a messy sound.  “Bigger Fish” reflects ItsYaBoiH2’s intended pivot to a wider world and a larger audience.  The song is angry and petulant, like the ranting of an angry child rather than a man hoping to make a better life.
“Greenbacks” is an entertaining and rhythmic number that flies on a looped vocal recording, with an almost commentary style rap from ItsYaBoiH2.  “Highs & Lows” takes a look at a balancing effect of life, whereby personal and professional trajectories can often run counter to one another.  ItsYaBoiH2 flows in intelligent fashion here, and creates an entertaining joint in the process.  “Scream” is a danceable and aurally enjoyable take on creating music and making the most of the experience.  There is a positive feel here that’s refreshing.  “Deep Water” has a river-like inertia; a wash of sounds that is hard to penetrate but easy to go with.  It’s not the most accessible track on the album, but has a draw of its own.  ItsYaBoiH2 slows things down for “Where I Wanna Be”, employing a vocal/rap style that seems inspired by Eminem.
“Too Dramatic” works with synthesized orchestral instrumentation in a stunning turn.  The message here is about relaxing a bit and enjoying life.  ItsYaBoiH2’s approach once again sounds angry here, but there’s an infectious beat at the root here that draws you in.  “Steppin’” is highly repetitive and angry.  The lo-fi approach noted earlier makes this sound shrill and poorly recorded.  “Jager On Tha Rocks” is a fluff/party piece that’s rough and unsophisticated in production.  With the right production and remix this song could find life on the dance floors of major clubs, but its current presentation is too low-fi and unpolished to get the attention of DJs.  “Lovin This” is a song of angry enjoyment.  ItsYaBoiH2 seems to be playing to type here rather than being genuine.  As a result, ItsYaBoiH2 ends up sounding petulant and sophomoric again. 
“Risk” begins like more of an R&B jam than a rap tune, and has a bland feel.  What becomes clear as the album progresses is that ItsYaBoiH2 seems to have little understanding of dynamics in the recording process.  Whether it’s a vocal issue for the artist, or an issue of production, ItsYaBoiH2 seems to have no highs or lows; barreling on at the same level without much tonal variation.  The risk here is that over the course of time the listener becomes somewhat inoculated to the sound.  “Fine Wine” is another angry turn.  The issue is that it’s sometimes hard to tell why ItsYaBoiH2 is angry, as often his anger is mixed with semi-positive messages.  The reason here is a bit clearer than usual, but the anger still seems conjured rather than genuine.  “Student Of Observation” is perhaps the finest track on the album, with a fresh rhythm and fly lyrical flow.  itsYaBoiH2 shows the full depth of his potential as a lyricist here, with a song that could probably cross over to pop/urban play lists as is.  Higher production values certainly wouldn’t hurt, but this song is a potential hit.  
“Cause & Effect” starts off sounding like a slow-core horror movie soundtrack with eerie synth and clockwork rhythm.  ItsYaBoiH2 lays down a rap that’s impressive, going freestyle with a stream of conscious flow that’s impressive.  “Ain’t That A” gets back to the disaffected anger based on perceived threats.  ItsYaBoiH2 does this stuff pretty well, but his reliance on this negative stuff just does not reflect on him well.  Bigger Fish closes out with “Sink”, an anachronistic tune awash in dreamy synth and deep reverb.  ItsYaBoiH2 is on to something here sonically, although at times the sound is quite messy.
ItsYaBoiH2 is a rapper of considerable talent grossly undercut by the low production values on his album Bigger Fish.   When unfettered by overt attempts to play to type, ItsYaBoiH2 is an engaging lyricist.  His vocal style does tend to drone at times; this is more of an issue of inflection and tone than anything else and is easily addressed.  Where ItsYaBoiH2 gets in his own way is his devotion to the forms of early gangsta rap.  When he puts this aside and speaks as himself rather than as an archetype he can be quite enjoyable to listen to.  The facilitated anger and misogyny of his boyhood idles does not fit him well, however.  Bigger Fish is an album of potential and of poor choices that hinges on a chameleon-like persona.  Once H2 decides who he really is we’ll have a better picture of what his art will be.

Artist:        ItsYaBoiH2
Title:        Bigger Fish
Rating:    3 Stars (Out of 5)
Review by:    Wildy Haskell 
(date could not be determined)



Tennessee artist ItsYaBoiH2 (Flatliner Music) just dropped a brand new album. It's dubbed Bigger Fish and it consists of 18 total tracks. There are guest appearances from fellow talents TopGun, T-Roc, and Da Grym Reefer. And the project was executive produced by IGNOVA. See what tracks The Illixer grew to become fond of after the jump. 
"Clap For 'Em"
The production here is decent. It is made up of: a casual bass, inconspicuous background components, a medium pace, and a neutral vibe. The hook is commendable. The delivery is fresh and the lyrics have a clear cut message in them. The verses are well outfitted. H2 exhibits a faultless flow, candid wordplay, and unrestricted rhymes. He discusses the unfortunate situation of going out of his way to help someone, only to have them turn on him and how he manages to push forward in spite of it all. He states: "What you want, a standing o? Homie they should slash ya throat. So you can let go of all that smoke that you constantly blow. I've seen it all before. You're nothing but a rerun. Biting off of ya own voice on a beat that's been redone. Ready for a new era. Second that, anyone? Picked at 'em so long it's starting to not be any fun." Those lines provided a flippant opening to the first verse. Overall, this was a shining record.
"Where I Wanna Be"
The production here is serene. The easy going foundation, gradual gait, featherweight secondary ingredients, and peaceful vibe make for a sublime mixture. The hook is first-class. The delivery is flattering and the lyrics are eloquent. They fully summarize the purpose of the song: "I just want to be the man. Looking at over a million fans. Hiding in the stands. And I'm reaching out to 'em to the point that they can even grab my hand. That's where I want to be." Beautiful statement coming from an aspiring artist. The verses are telling. H2 contributes an emotional flow, personal wordplay, and deep almost spiritual rhymes. He shares his struggles, his love for his craft, and more. Noteworthy lines include: "I'm needing a new thesaurus before my verses start to bore 'em. Cause I don't feel like ya favorite. Just a decoy for 'em. The way my brainstorming creates vocals of decorum, I could be so focused in it that I leave a stain on 'em. Without warning or housewarming, you can hear my tears like my mouth's mourning over the crowd that forgot about forming. Ouch, I couldn't feel more cornered." Very intricate and moving bars right there. All in all, this is a real gem and the favorite off of the LP. It should be noted that a video for the cut can be seen at the end of the review.
"Aint That A"
The production here is great. It encompasses: a laden bass, a mid-tempo pace, complimentary musical elements, and an aggressive vibe. The hook is up to standard as well. The delivery is fiery and the lyrics are blatant. The verses continue the established high-strung nature of the track. H2 dishes out a cold flow and merciless rhymes. He conveys his feelings towards certain types of people without hesitation while at the same time demonstrating why he deserves to look at himself as one of the "big fish" in the game. A couple of dope lines include: "Who on the bottom bout to stop somebody this far at the top? Ain't in ya right mind if you think that you and I'll ever swap. I'm that motherf---a ya hate and yet you still wait up to watch." Sick way for H2 to close out the beginning of the track. In the end, this song is a banger and another album favorite.
**My Two Cents: Bigger Fish is a quality LP. H2 shows a respectable amount of growth since his last offering while at the same time retaining the versatility that gives him his edge over the competition. Also, the production was right on the mark. And he kept the guest appearances at a proper number. I definitely give the album two thumbs up. Formulate your own opinion by hitting that link and previewing the project on iTunes. Be sure to peep the above video too. It's simple yet very appropriate for the single. -MinM


ItsYaBoiH2 – Bigger Fish (Album Review) – The Illixer
 

 

 

Monumental Front Cover.png

Click to read
theillixer's review

What Steve Short had to say about "Dark Horse (Rock Remix)" with Allison Unread & Blake Becton
(6/2/15)

-Steve wrote: "H2 Anthony Brown - Love what you do with this and you get the Grammy for referencing Ichabod!!! Ha! Your followup will be Headless Horseman!!! No kidding - you nailed this. Just keep working, because you have got great material. Allison Unread - love your singing. Hope you take it as a compliment that you remind me of Madonna and her sensibility and presence. I admire her tremendously. Love the work by Blake Becton on this song (Demon Boy dark screams! ha) but to be honest, if time, money and equipment are no objects (Ha!!) - I wish Allison's voice could be doubled and put way more out front!! Don't hide her - she's too good! You guys got it going on!!"

 

IMG_20230709_105609929~2.jpg
Pair-a-lesions Official Front Cover.jpg

Artist: ItsYaBoiH2
Album: Pair-a-lesions
Reviewer: Alice Neiley

To be honest, ever since Eminem released his first album, I’ve been suspect of contemporary indie rap. He’s clearly a born lyricist when he deepens the subject matter (i.e. “Lose Yourself”), but the nails-in-a-sink-disposal nature of his voice pushed me away with both hands immediately, not to mention his often unoriginal flood of instrumentation. That being said, I’ve steered clear of the genre all together for some years now, but thank goodness I took another listen. ItsYaBoiH2’s most recent album, Pair-a lesions, invited me in, and I continue to be thrilled about it. Though H2’s vocals smack of Eminem, he has a milder timbre, and the album as a whole feels like a sophisticated, home-boy block party: the guys spit playful rhymes but also throw down about the seriousness of growing up, identity, and the other big issues one only discusses with the closest of friends. In short, it’s an album of intimacy and skill, a saving grace to the genre. 
   The first sense of ‘invitation’ comes from the “Intro” track, which runs only about 30 seconds and consists mostly of what sounds like dudes talking on the street, or in the schoolyard. Much like the tail end of some of Lauryn Hill’s tracks on Miseducation, this conversational tactic draws a listener in, helps them kick back on a stoop and just eavesdrop. However, right off the bat, one can detect some sharpness in the voices, giving us another clue about what we can expect from the rest of the album – conversational with an edge. 
   The next two tracks maintain the mostly positive vibe, accumulating slightly rougher moments along the way. “Preachin,” shifts the album into a more musical realm. It offers a melodic, catchy chorus--very hummable/singable--and the rhyming is fantastic, employing an impressive usage of the poetic techniques of slant rhyme, all the lyrics are thoroughly pleasing: ‘destination/decimated,’ ‘my range is outrageous.’ “Feelin’ Like a New Fight” slides us back to the messy, conversational nature of “Intro,” though I think the messiness is intentional—creating the feeling of ‘talent from the neighborhood,’ of moving up in the world. The brilliant Nina Simone “Feelin’ Good’ sample incorporated throughout, and the vocal ‘oooos’ that arrive toward the middle, pull the tune together like a zipper--a perfect balance of shooting the shit and well thought out musical structure. 
   “My Basement” takes the album down a notch energetically and emotionally, deepening a sentimental, melodic guitar line with dark, eerie samples of Led Zepplin. “Fall At Your Feet” is also very effective in shifting the mood of the album, this time from sadness to sadness tinged with aggression. The hook is catchy and unfortunately also little pedestrian; however, I’m tempted to believe that’s also intentional, to showcase the fabulously Bare-Naked-Ladies-esque, sputtering word rhythms. ItsYaBoiH2 also, again, includes a vocal sample here, all of which seem to act as glue for every individual track on which they appear, as well as the album as a whole. 
   The thread of street conversation reappears in “New In Town,” which leads perfectly into the sweet, chillin’ vibe of “Do Without (Again)”, as if the conversation stopped just to hang out, relax, and listen to some good, R&B jazzy rap spinning, and of course, vocals. The vocals take over ten-fold in “Easy,” seemingly with the same vocal sample as some of the earlier tracks, or at least one that’s very similar, making the vocals an even more unifying aspect of the album. 
   “Resettin,” aptly resets the mood once again, delving deeper into longing and darkness. Vocals continue to be the river that connects this tune to the others, but this time, it’s a John Mayer sample, heightening the heartache, rather than the usual soulful, female vocal which heightens the badass. 
   The title track “Pair-a-lesions” continues the melancholy feeling, but less effectively, and the lyrics feel a little redundant right after “Resettin,” which explores similar themes. However, the last track, “Lay it on the Line,” is by far my favorite, and seems to draw all the best aspects from all the tracks before it—vocals, samples, sparkling uniqueness of instrumentation—it’s the blast off toward which the entire album has been heating up. 
   With his solid, thematic lines of heartbreak, anger, and hope, his inviting conversational loops, and his unbeatable lyrical skills, ItsYaBoiH2 has clearly nailed this album. The only low points seem to be due to slight lapses in direction/focus, which might have something to do with the toggle between sources of production, but who can say? For the most part, Pair-a-lesions is a gift, a lifeguard, and some serious bling for the contemporary indie rap genre, and all I can say is: it’s about time someone laced up some real MC shoes around here.  

Reviewed by Alice Neiley
Rating: 4 stars out of 5. 
(4/20/16)

Artist: ItsYaBoiH2
Album: Pair-a-lesions
Reviewer: Alice Neiley

ItsYaBoiH2
Pair-a-Lesions
Review by Alex Henderson
3.5 stars out of 5

Hip-hop started in New York City (specifically, Harlem and the South Bronx) in the late 1970s, but in recent years, the South’s contributions to hip-hop have been enormous.  From Master Limit’s No Limit crew in New Orleans to Ludacris and all the Atlanta rappers to Pitbull in Miami, southern rappers have sold numerous albums and singles.  Rappers from the Dirty South often project a strong regional identity: listeners who are heavily into hip-hop can easily tell the stylistic differences between southern rappers and rappers from other parts of the United States.  But occasionally, one comes across a southern rapper with a musical identity that isn’t especially southern-sounding.  And ItsYaBoiH2 is such a rapper. 

ItsYaBoiH2 is from Milan, Tennessee (as opposed to Milan, Italy), but listening to his 2013 release, Bigger Fish, it was evident that his most prominent influences were not southern rappers.  And the influences that served him well three years ago continue to serve him well on 2016’s Pair-a-Lesions, including Eminem, Jay-Z, Bone Thugs N Harmony and House of Pain.

One hears a lot of Eminem when ItsYaBoiH2 is flowing on “New in Town,” “Preachin’,” “My Basement” or “Fall at Your Feet.”  Yet the introspection on “Lay It on the Line” and the title track brings to mind Jay-Z, and while ItsYaBoiH2’s lyrics are edgy, he never becomes as twisted or dark as Eminem can be.  Of course, neither Eminem nor Jay-Z are from the Dirty South.  Jay-Z is from Brooklyn, and Eminem is a Michigan native with a West Coast connection (namely producer/rapper Dr. Dre, the former N.W.A member who played a crucial role in Eminem’s rise to fame in the late 1990s).  

Bone Thugs N Harmony are from Ohio, and House of Pain was a West Coast group with an East Coast connection: Everlast was born in New York State.  So when one factors in all of ItsYaBoiH2’s direct or indirect influences (from Eminem to Jay-Z to Bone Thug N Harmony to House of Pain), it is clear that despite his southern background, he gets the vast majority of his creative inspiration from outside of the Dirty South.

Many of the beats on Pair-a-Lesions are funk and urban beats.  But there is also a fair amount of rock influence on this album, from “Fall at Your Feet” to “New in Town” (which opens with a sample of Minister Louis Farrakhan, leader of the Nation of Islam).  And ItsYaBoiH2 acknowledges Led Zeppelin on two selections: “Easy” and “Mince Meat.”  While “Easy” contains an old BBC sample from early in Led Zeppelin’s career, “Mince Meat” samples the Middle Eastern-influenced “Kashmir” (one of the most famous songs on the band’s 1975 album Physical Graffiti).  

The merger of hip-hop and rock goes back to the 1980s with Run-D.M.C. and the Beastie Boys.  They were the first MCs to incorporate rock in a major way (Run-D.M.C. with “Rock Box” in 1984, the Beastie Boys with “Rock Hard”).  In fact, the Beasties started out as a punk band in New York City before shifting their focus to hip-hop.  And in the 1990s, hip-hop’s influence on rock was so strong that it was impossible to spend an hour listening to a Generation X-oriented “active rock” or alternative rock station without hearing some type of hip-hop influence.  So combining rock and hip-hop is a long, proud tradition that has been going strong for more than 30 years, and it is good to see ItsYaBoiH2 contributing to that tradition on “Easy,” “Mince Meat,” “Fall at Your Feet” and “New in Town.”  But while artists like Faith No More, Rage Against the Machine and the Red Hot Chili Peppers brought hip-hop into rock, ItsYaBoiH2 is bringing rock into hip-hop (which is more in line with how Run-D.M.C., Public Enemy, LL Cool J, Sir Mix-a-Lot, Ice-T, Tone-Loc and others approached it back in the day).

Pair-a-Lesions isn’t groundbreaking, but it’s a solid example of a southern rapper getting most of his creative inspiration from outside of the Deep South. 
(date could not be determined)
###




“In large part the production of Pair-a-lesions is full of samples. From Nina Simone to Led Zepplin, there are dynamic odes to the classics through this medium and YaBoi knows exactly who he is on each song. Amazing, really, is that even though the instrumentals at time are huge, H2 never gets lost on them and his command of his flow is something definitely to behold.”
- Charles Sweet, Review You (Apr 21, 2016)
 
“YaBoi is on it lyrically, and as I’ve progressed through the album the picture of the kind of MC he is has begun to surface.”
- Charles Sweet, Review You (Apr 21, 2016)
 
““My Basement” is the antithesis of “Preachin’” as he talks about the issues that have befallen him. What gets me about the track is how adept he is at being situational; so many other rappers tend to mix braggadocios lines in with their supposed woes in ways that ultimately just feel unbelievable. H2 has a way of articulating his rhymes in a real, honest manner, and “My Basement” is a perfect example of this. The melody is one that creeps into your soul after a listen or two and it will definitely be one that I remember for quite a while.”
- Charles Sweet, Review You (Apr 21, 2016)
 
““Preachin’” is the opener for Pair-a-lesions and a great choice for it. The song is deep, surprisingly so for the first cut, and fulfilling as well because it showcases not only that H2 has bars, but also that he can conceptualize a thought-provoking song heavy on both meaning and thump. The song’s optimistic and I felt as though it was more a conversation with an old friend more than anything.”
- Charles Sweet, Review You (Apr 21, 2016)
 
“ItsYaBoiH2’s new album Pair-a-lesions, is a sophisticated record from a rapper reminiscent of early Watsky, but lyrically unique.....From the opening track, ItsYaBoiH2 attacks your ears with an incredible sense of rhythm that is usually only present in artists on major labels.....ItsYaBoiH2‘s vocals are firing on all cylinders flawlessly throughout and several tracks nail their production perfectly as well, most notably “Feelin Like A New Fight.””
- Owen Maxwell, The Scene Magazine (Mar 02, 2016)

Reverbnation Crowd Reviews (3/31/17)
-I like the piano in the beginning, it begins the song on a soft note, which I like. The rapping is okay, but it just sounds monotone. The effect on the voice isn't needed as well. His singing doesn't go with the beat, especially at one point where it doesn't even sound right.

-Instrumentals sounded good overall. I liked the piano performance and melody. The main melody however was average. Vocals were okay and lyrics sounded good. The harmonies were a little pitchy though which negatively impacted my enjoyment of the song. The tempo was lackluster.

-The song starts off with a mellow soft beat that grabs my attention and pulls me in. I would seek this artist out to see what else they have to offer in other songs. They rap is very attention grabbing and makes me feel the lyrics.

-This song sounded like the combination of sad and angry which is good for certain moods but this morning I would like to hear more upbeat songs and not anything that is mood lowering. I did like the lyrics just not for this moment.

-I get a Bone Thugs feel from this artist. Instrumental is dope, and the flow matches it perfectly. The intro was kind of too long, but it's fine. The structure of the song is amazing and fits the instrumental perfectly.

-I loved the piano intro to the song and I liked the beat. I did not like the lyrics to the song they just did not flow together at all. The vocalist does have potential though but he needs to work on his word flow.

-Nice simple chords in the beginning, sounds good, like the instruments that come in. The vocals starts strong, but a bit out of tune. The overall blend of the song is ok if the vocals would be better in tune.

-The idea here is pretty good, just needs some further refinement. Production wise, things are very rough. Vocals sound very weak and amateur. Instrumentation gets very tinny and overbearing during the chorus.

-The lyrics are interesting, the vocals are very "Lonely Island" sounding but I know this isn't a comedy artist, but that is what I am reminded of. Especially during the chorus of "Yea!" and "C'Mon!"

-The song is not bad, not bad at all. The vocals are strong and the lyrics are good, not too full of profanity and well though out. The instrumentation is excellent and the production is perfect.

-I like how the beginning starts slow like it is building anticipation to the lyrics. The lyrics are alright the song is pretty good overall theres not too much base and he doesnt rap too fast

-I think that this song has a little of a slower start but it really gets into the song. I like the meaning and the message and the sincerity. The introduction is my favorite part of the song.

-Intro of this song took too long. Instrumental is too basic and boring, feels like a mess with the drums and other background noise. Lyrics and vocals are alright, I like the intensity of it.

-Don't like some of the lyrics but like the melody and the effect of a slow melody with fast lyrics. It started kinda slow but once it got going the melody was really haunting and beautiful

-This is more of a low key upper class form of rap. He is very lyrical and has the ability, it is just that something doesn't translate as a struggle in his rhymes. It seems a bit forced.

-This song is appealing to me because of the very find piano work and other instrumentation from the first note in concert with the most engaging vocals and delivery of the rap story line

-This song has nice qualities about it mostly the vocals and the lyrics. Everything else is okay but not the most amazing things I've heard but still good song for what that's worth.

-I like the slow piano start to this song and the slow build at the start. I like the rapping and vocals in this song. The song structure and instrumentation is pretty interesting.

-I the lyrics to the song, the artist found a creative and catchy way to tell his story. The beat was full of emotion and drama. The hook tied in good with the rest of the song.

-The music is awesome and captures my attention. It has feeling. The flows and lyrics are good as well for the most part but some parts seem a bit loud and it could be smoother.

-Good start of the song in the piano and theaccordian or whatever would be a better as another instrument. The vocals are not bad for the most part and they fit the song well.

-The piano music at the beginning is beautiful. I really think the instrumentation of this song is so good and I love how moody it is. Excellent song. Great voice and lyrics.

-The start of song is good and easy on ears but as the song progresses the mood of song slowly changes to more heavy tunes, lyrics are average and they can be improved a lot.

-This song caught my attention and was very interesting to listen to at the go very mellow till it started. I felt the beats pretty good and enjoyed listening to the artist.

-A slowly building piano sound in the intro that leads to a rapper who performs with a lot of strength and meaning in his lyrics with a solid backing by the production.

-This song was deep and scary all at the same time. I enjoyed it but at the same time it made my mind wonder. But over all the song was great the artist was wonderful.

-The song is nice and cool, content is a bit in the field of mainstream garbage but it is delivered well enough that I can say I like this song and would listen again

-The music to this song is really nice. I also like this artist's flow. The lyrics are really good. All in all I feel that the artist did a nice job on this track.

-At first this song didn't jump out at me much, seemed standard, but after listening, that hook really sticks with you. I see it is a simple song, but infectious.

-The track comes off alright and I think the music stands out. The rapping is pretty good, but I don't see this tune having anything that makes it really special.

-I really liked the piano playing during the intro of the song. I thought that brought a really cool touch to the song. I think the lyrics were also very good.

-I like the rappers voice and style. He reminds me alot of Eminem. The song is very well written and performed. I like the beat alot. It is very ear pleasing.

-The dramatic instrumentals in this song are what peak my interest the most and also what I like the most. I like that it makes an impression straight away.

-It was like the rapper was trying to be a new Eminem. He wasn't as smooth and good as Eminem. It was okay but not something I'd want to listen to again.

-It has a nice piano in the beginning of the song. It is a nice slower song, the lyrics are good and goes great with the beat. It is a nice mellow song.

-The intro is a little slow. The lyrics are alright, nothing too special. The drum and bass are good, and the instrumentals are clear and not too bad.

-The instrumentation is fabulous! I loved the intro. I like the lyrics. The vocals are good. Everything about this is very good. I really liked it!

-The tempo was a little slow. The beat and mix were just average. The vocals were good to me. Good song to get down with, but just average I guess.

-He sounds a lot like Marshall Mathers. His song is raw and gritty and real. Since it was a little bit of a downer I would not listen to on repeT.

-I love how personal and real the lyrics are. The rapping was good too. Reminded me eminem and I love eminem so that is amazing. I'd listen again

-I really enjoyed the piano introduction adn the instrumentation. I did not like how long the intro was though. The vocals were really good too.

-Sorry, but it ain't my boy on display here. Nice piano action that leads into a pretty sick eminem style beat down. Great message here too.

-I love the slow piano at the start of the song and the blend of instruments coming together. Then the song takes off and has a good beat.

-I liked it but it would be better without the curse words. Cursing is such a turn off in music. It lacks imagination it is just venting.

-THIS HAS A REALLY SWEET SOFT BEGINNING, IT IS VERY RELAXING AND GETS TO MY SOUL, THE RAPPER HAS A GOOD VOCAL PERFORMANCE THAT IS FOR SURE

-This song was peaceful and extremely relaxed. I could really chill out to this song. The vocals paired well with the music. Thank you.

-I LIKE THE PIANO IN THE START OF THIS IT IS NICE AND SMOOTH, THE SINGER HAS A NICE SMOOTH VOICE ALSO THAT GOES ALONG WITH THE MUSIC

-I like the name of the song. The way the song starts out is awesome. Sounds like a romantic song. I love the voice of the singer.

-The piano at the start of the song was really good. It was relaxing and settled me down. I would love to hear more. Thank you.

-I think this song has a lot of potential. I like the feeling of it and how emotional it is. I don't like the yelling though.

-Not a huge fan of the beat, the song seems to have a very long intro time. Not a huge fan of the content of the song either

-I like the vocals ans tone on this one and I really liked the over all feel of this track

 

Terminal ILLness Part 1 Front Cover.jpg

Reverbnation Crowd Reviews (12/12/17) "Throw That Fire"

-Something about this song felt a little outdated. It seems like it would have fit in the height of the Jay Z, Eminem era but now it just feels a bit tired. The style of the lyrics felt a little repetitive, like just a constant monotone yelling. There just wasn't enough fresh or variety to this song.

-I feel like the lyrical content of this song was a bit inaccurate. Some of what was going on was not totally truthful and I feel like the song realy came off as a rattled piece rather than a wholesome sound

-I like the song because the lyrics are interesting. The background beat is very interesting and a bit busy, so it was hard to understand what was happening, but overall, the rap was pleasant to listen to.

-The talking in this audio reminds me of T. I first album Trap Muzk and I do not like this similarity. Lastly, the rapping is too far away from this three six mafia style beat and I do not like this.

-I really like the beat of the song and the instrumental, though I don't care for the random high pitched singing. It's still catchy, however. The rapper is okay, kind of hard to understand.

-The vibe on this was pretty good. Audio sounded a little thin bit def could be tweaked a little bit to fix that. This one def had a good flow to it for sure. Not a bad listen.

-YaBoiH2 had good energy in the rapping. The vocals could have had more clarity. Perhaps only a single voice would be better? The instrumentation was OK, but became redundant.

-I like the name of the song, and the friendly kinda neighborhood feel to it, but the rapping feels a bit tense for the rest of the song. Don't think he needs to be yelling

-Overall, this was a great song. The instrumentals and vocals are great. The lyrics are cool. The sound quality could be a little bit better. I would love to hear more.

-This is a great song. The flow and beat were great, very smooth. The lyrics were creative and easy and clear to understand. I'd like to listen to more from this group.

-What I have heard it is not vulgar which I highly approve of. I would totally buy it for that reason alone. I like the lyrics and the beat. I would stream it for sure.

-The beat sounds very generic. It just seems like a cheap imitation to the things that are currently out. The likes are okay, but just like the beat it sounds generic.

-This artist sounds very young voicewise but his lyrics sound more grown up. The song does have a certain hype sound to it. The overall sound quality is pretty decent.

-The beat is pretty good from my point of view I am liking it,song lyrics is credible making song rating improved I like that this song making me want hear it again

-I like how the vocals compliment the beat so well. They both sound very good together. I think that this song could be popular. The vocals remind me of eminem.

-I like the upbeat sound of this song, but the whole thing is pretty chaotic. I am not sure how I feel about the “chipmunk” sound of the background vocals.

I don't like the bizarre, processed chipmunk voice. I do like the singer's voice, though, and the beat in general. The song gets repetitive really fast.

-The beat is compelling and the artist's vocal performance is entertaining. However, the lyrics seem just average and the song is a bit too repetitive.

-I like this song its very emotional and unique at the same time. The singer does a great job singing with emotion and it goes well with the song.

-I disliked the sound of this song because it was very muffled and bass heavy. The vocals sounded so distant it was uncomfortable to listen to.

-The beat is quite epic. I love the production quality and the beat. Specifically the hi hats are on point! I'm not a huge fan of the vocalist.

-The song was okay there was nothing really big that stood out about it but it was nice to hear I think others might like it a little more.

-The backing track is pretty good, I like how it flows and the general sound it, I don't really care all that much for the vocals though.

-The intro of this song drew me in. It sounds like so much fun. I don't feel like dancing, but I want to crank it up in my car.

-I really liked the song and thought the artist had a nice flow. I really liked the beat and would listen to this song again.

-The beat has a nice rhythmic bounce to it. The artist vocals has a lot of aggression in it. The lyrics seems very deep also.

Reverbnation Crowd Reviews (6/11/18)

"Sunken Place"

-I like that this rap feels like a muscle in my brain of a memory. I feel the lyrics constantly bless me with insight, process with vision. To reflections of things that have happened. Anyone who's ever been in such relationships with the opposite sex could relate. The music vibes with the lyrics and gives the song a smooth feel.

-This is rap. The only thing I don't like about this song is the rapper himself seems rough around the edges when he rhymes. It's not that I don't think this artist is bad, but I do feel like he could use some overall polish on his flow. His voice is rigid. Like he needs more practice.

-I like the soft, gentle start to to this track. I like the irony as it nicely sets up the incoming vocals which are harsh in both style and tone. I like the lyrics, and I like the message. I like the strong, male lead vocals and I like the soft, male backing vocals.

-I really liked the lyrics from this song, but that's about all I liked. The sound quality of the song was very low. The rapper's voice is very scratchy/bad, and he does not have a very good rapping voice either. The lyrics were the only bright spot of this song.

-Finally a song with some lyrical content without using too many vulgar references and words to try to make a song. This sounds like storytelling which is what rap WAS all about. I could probably listen to more songs by this artist.

-Loved the lyrical side of this track, albeit it was a little clunky, awkward, or felt forced at times. Overall though, it's nice to hear a track that has some lyrical aspects instead of the usual pop rap stuff that's out there.

-This song had a tight beat and a solid bass line. The rap is okay... The guy isn't trying to reinvent the wheel or anything, so it's a basic rap about whatever pops in his head. A solid tune that would get some quick airplay.

-Artist has a nice smooth voice, and his rap flows well too. The hook is good and the instruments and beats compliment each other well. His accent reminds me of T. I.'s accent, it's different than most and sets him apart.

-Strong and loud vocals with a nice lyrical flow, this track is energetic and aggressive and would fit well with documentary type movies. The lyrical flow is nice throughout and overall this track is a decent listen.

-I think that the lyrics are offensive and I do not like the vocals in this song because it comes across as strained and uninteresting for teh most part of the performance. I do like the instrumentals in this song.

-I really like the creativity on this song. I think it was a well-written I probably like it if I heard it on the radio more. But one listened just didn't hug me. I think it's one of the songs that grows on you.

-I thought the music to this song was really generic. What I really did not like at were the lyrics. They were over-the-top cheesy along with some pretty terrible vocals. I would not listen to this song again.

-The lyrics are just average as I understand it's telling his story. I really can't connect to it. Perhaps the hook could have been song by a female. The instrumentals and beat are good. Just more bass

-Like the intro with the chanting. Beat is good but needs to be louder. Rapper has skills. He's good but needs his vocals to be louder. Vocals are good. Some clever vocab words here. Good word skills.

-The backing vocals are absolutely incredible. The lyrics have a nice flow to the fits very well with the instrumentals. The bass could be a little more prevalent. The chorus/breakdown is great.

-I liked this track lyrically, and thought it came together pretty good overall. The beat on this track was also solid, and supported the rapper nicely. Hip hop fans will likely enjoy this.

-Rap by numbers , no originality here , sample track is good, execution and production are fine, but this format has all been done before, so song is predictable and ultimately tiresome.

-Really like the beginning with the background melody and sound effect. Lyrics are pretty good too. Not a fan of the chorus, though. It sounds amateur and outdated. Song title is cool.

-This song was not my favorite but it was not bad. The music and lyrics was ok. It definitely was not one of my favorites but it wasn't awful and I wouldn't mind listening to it again.

-I like how the lyrics are meaningful and it shows that he has a lot of flow, but there does need to be more production work for enhanced sound quality, especially during the chorus.

-This is a sweet Hip Hop song. Very well crafted and sung. The song has certain degree of flow which is very catchy. The vocalist has a certain attitude and carries the melody well.

-The vocals were weak but the music and the beat saved this song. The lyrics were decent but what made the song was the beat. If there was a different rapper it would sound better.

-I like his vocals and the story line sounds realistic. The chorus was on point and he can actually sing pretty good on top of rapping. Not everyone can... The sound was perfect.

-This is an interesting song. The lyrics are clear and strong. This song has a lot of energy. It has a good beat. I would buy this song. I would enjoy hearing this song live.

-I really like the beat and instrumentals, but am not a fan of the vocals. I don't particularly like the artist's voice and don't really think the lyrics fit with the beat

-This is like an eminem but with a shade of depressive notes, meeting someone for the first time and worrying about being rejected after years of friendship. Rough times.

-I like this song a lot. It has a good sound and a dope flow that is totally lit up. Although I do this song needs a sound quality improvement to be ready for the radio.

-The composition overall isn't very good. The vocals don't match the loudness of the instrumentals. The vocals kind of sound like a rip off of Eminem. Just not my thing.

-I liked the beat of this track quite a bit. I think this song could be a hit on the right radio stations. This would be a fun song to hear while hanging out in a club.

-The lyrics were interesting and clever. I like that the vocals were strong and matched the background beat. The background beat didn't try to compete with the vocals.

-I liked the artist's flow and delivery;the flow flowed really well and the delivery was strong and charismatic. I liked the chorus;it was catchy and memorable.

-The song has a great sound and shows off the artist's considerable vocal skills. I loved his flow and delivery, and think the lyrics are pretty strong as well.

-All the beats in this song sound really awesome and the vocals are really clear and they are strong sounding and go well with the music in this song great job

-I like the lyrics and the beat of this song. The vocals aren't my favorite, but the song is slowly growing on me. The message the song is portraying is deep.

-The parts of the song that are rapping are pretty good but the parts that are singing need some work. The song starts to feel a little boring after a minute.

-The story is so intense and there is such a powerful and aggressive side to the rapper that brings such a strong characjyer and helps you visualize the story

-I didn't like this singer's voice because he sounded because he sounded too young for the lyrics and the artist's name is boring and wouldn't be memorable.

-I like the song overall, the lyrics fit well, well written and delivered. Catchy chorus. I like his voice, would definitely research more from this artist.

-Solid rap song. The production is nice and the artist stays on pace throughout. He has a good flow. This could easily be a hit on mainstream hip hop radio.

-I don't dislike anything about this song. The lyrics and music go well together. I could listen to this song more than once. The artist is pretty good.

-I was digging this a little bit. I think the beat could be a little better and the vocals could be mixed a little better. Has some potential for sure.

-It's a catchy song, his voice reminds me of eminem and the lyrics and definitely use some work. A little juvenile but promising. I'd listen in a club

-I like this song a lot. The artist is very talented. I like when a rap song goes between rap and singing. The words are clear and understandable.

-This is really interesting. I like the style of this song a lot, and I really like his voice, this is very chill but also clever and intelligent.

-This song is about average. I like the last part a lot better than the beginning. Although it's not a bad song, I don't find it interesting.

-Very emotional and fast paced song right here. I really like the way the the lyrics and the details are displayed here as well in my opinion

-The song sounds pretty good with awesome and shocking lyrics. Besides, liking the words in the song, the beat is very wholesome as well.

-I like his voice. I think his lyrics could be a more clever. I do like the chorus. I am not sure I want to hear more from this artist.

-I like the song the beat is great the rhythm is good the vocals matches with the instrument the song is of good quality and production

-This is pretty good. The vocalist sounds really good. The lyrics are pretty good and are clever. Overall, this is not bad at all.

-The song has potential but something about it just misses the mark for me and I can't figure out why. I do like the beat though.

-I like the back beat. His rap is really smooth. It reminds me of something Eminem would put out. Their voices are very similar.

-I like that all of the parts of the song works so well together. The lyrics work well with the beats and make everything pop.

IMG_20230709_130655536~2.jpg

2/28/52-1/5/23

  • "Gotta send a huge shout out to Steve Short for writin a GREAT article. Its bout time the M got noticed for all the talent it has to offer n if i gotta kick in the door to show em then thats what ima do! MILAN TN STAND UP!"-H (3/22/11)

"He's got another album of original songs called "Defenseless," and he's performing Saturday night on Beale Street at the New Daisy in a benefit concert for St. Jude's children's hospital. Congratulations to Milan rapper Anthony "It's Ya Boi H2" Brown. Check out our feature story on Anthony this week in the Mirror-Exchange!"

-Steve Short (3/25/11)

  •  

  • "Just cleanly killed a breakdown on a classic Joe Cocker song in like 5 mins, thanks to a mastermind idea from Steve Short this is gonna be alotta fun!!"-H (2/19/16)

     ."Whether Short, Winfrey, or STAYNER...A STEVE has always had my back,            THANK YOU!!! #HRG" — with Steven Winfrey and Steve Short. (8/14/22)

  • "AB - you're Leo Tolstoy with a hip hop beat​t

  • I heard the entire rhymin' Simon, ravin' on magnum opus,

  • A prophet is without honor in his own land. Somebody said it. This could be your My Life In A Stolen Moment, rhymin' style. I think you're referencing Cayce, and I wondered about that. Also wanted to mention the city in Italy that is our town's namesake. One of the first published histories said, "The town of Milan, TN is named after the city in Italy, but for what reason, the oldest inhabitant does not know." People didn't know why the TN town was named after the city in Italy. But Emma Smith Williamson, a teacher and daughter-in-law of the town's founder, Beverly Williamson, said her brother, John Smith, a teacher and attorney, picked the name "Milan," because this area and climate here were somewhat similar to the agricultural region of northern Italy. Milan, TN was born as a railroad depot stop on the L & N Railroad (which ran from Memphis all the way to Cincinnati) around 1858 in the telegraph days. Telegraph operators along the railroad liked towns that had two syllables. And other towns in TN had names reflecting European or foreign cities - Paris, Dresden, Trenton, etc."-Steve Short (8/14/22)


To Steve,
I will always be
 in your debt and will continue to share your kind words, because they mattered more to me than I'm sure even you realized,
thank you for everything
-H-


 

bottom of page